Federal Benefit Program: Medicare


Medicare is a health insurance program for people 65 years of age or older, some disabled people under 65 years, and people with End-Stage Renal Disease (permanent kidney failure treated with dialysis or a transplant). Medicare coverage is comprised of two parts: Hospital Insurance (Part A) and Medical Insurance (Part B).

Eligibility Criteria:

You must be 65 years of age or older and a citizen or permanent resident of the United States. You might also qualify for coverage if you are a younger person with a disability or with End-Stage Renal disease (permanent kidney failure requiring dialysis or transplant) or Lou Gehrig’s Disease.

Hospital Insurance (Part A):

You can get Part A at age 65 without having to pay premiums if:
•  You are already receiving retirement benefits from Social Security or the Railroad Retirement Board.
•  You are eligible to receive Social Security or Railroad benefits but have not yet filed for them.
•  You or your spouse had Medicare-covered government employment.

Medical Insurance (Part B):

If you are under 65, you can get Part B without having to pay premiums if:
•  You have received Social Security or Railroad Retirement Board disability benefit for 24 months.
•  You are a kidney dialysis or kidney transplant patient.